Site Loader
Get a Quote
Rock Street, San Francisco

The Four Noble Truth
The Four Noble truths are the key elements to Buddha’s teaching. The first noble truth is suffering, the hardships human beings endured through their lifetime. The second noble truth is the origin of suffering, craving for desire. The third noble truth is cessation of suffering, letting go of desire. And the fourth noble truth is the path leading to the cessation of suffering. It was these four principles that buddha came to understand during his meditation. Understanding these principles lead us to believe that there is no permanent or real. Humans are constantly changing due to their surroundings and actions, which causes suffering. The purpose of the four noble truth is to enlighten us about suffering and how we can overcome it.
The first noble truth is that life is suffering. The Buddha believed that is subject to desires and cravings and when we satisfy these cravings, it is only temporary. Suffering is part of life and failure to and understand and learn from it leads to despair. Suffering comes in many different forms, according to Buddha, “Birth is suffering, ageing is suffering, sickness is suffering, death is suffering…” (Smith 65).
Origin of Suffering
After the Buddha learned that suffering is a part of life, he realized that he could not find a way to end suffering without finding out what causes it. The cause of suffering is desire. The Buddha taught that this thirst grows from ignorance of the self. We go through life grabbing one thing after another to get a sense of security about ourselves. We attach not only to physical things but also to ideas and opinions about ourselves and the world around us. Then we grow frustrated when the world doesn’t behave the way we think it should and our lives don’t conform to our expectations.
Cessation of Suffering
The solution to suffering is to stop craving and desiring. The Second Noble Truth tells us that we hold on to things we believe will make us happy or keep us safe. Grasping for one thing after another never satisfies us for long because it’s all impermanent. It is only when we see this for ourselves that we can stop grasping. When we do see it, the letting go is easy. The craving will seem to disappear of its own.
The Path
The fourth noble truth taught that the ways to end suffering is to free yourself from desire. In Buddhism, the eightfold path is meant as a guideline and to be taken on when each step is fully accepted as part of the life you seek. The eightfold path consists of right views, right intent, right speech, right conduct, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration.
After going through and reading about the four noble truths, I have realized that I am not aware of many things. In my lifetime, I have never thought that life ultimately leads to suffering in one way or another.

Post Author: admin


I'm Lillian

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out